Summertime fun

I’ve been trying to enjoy summer in Seattle before I get too pregnant to withstand the heat! I am also cherishing every moment I have with Cody. I know when Eli arrives things will change. It’ll no longer be just me and ‘lil C’. My little sidekick. I just love hanging out with him. He is so much fun!
We went to the beach and enjoyed the sun, sand, and ‘surf’ (it was on a lake so there wasn’t much surf to be had!). My beautiful niece Mijah joined us on that adventure. He was very brave and got into the water up to his knees. I think it helped that “Auntie” (Mijah) held his hand and gave him courage. ๐Ÿ˜Š

A few days later we went to our favorite farm (Fox Hollow Family Farm). Mijah joined us for that adventure as well (she spent a week and a half with us) as did my sister. Cody loves that place. His favorite animals are the ‘neighs’ (horses). He’s still telling stories about that outing days later. It rained the whole time we were there but he didn’t mind. He was a pro at holding the umbrella and he loved jumping in the puddles!

Today we went to the zoo with a former co-worker and her 5 month old. Cody wanted nothing to do with the baby (uh oh) but loved looking at the bears and giraffes and zebras (which he thought were ‘neighs’). They also have a few ‘moos’ (cows) at the zoo which he loved. He definitely loves the farm animals best!

My son brings so much joy to my life. He makes me laugh and giggle. I love playing at the park or in our backyard with him. I love hearing him clap for himself when he goes down the slide or laugh wildly as I push him higher and higher in the swing. I love when his little face lights up as he hears an airplane high in the sky then cheers when he finds it up there. I love that he tells every plane he sees, “Bye! Bye!”. I love when we’re cuddling in my bed in the morning and he strokes my arm or when he wants me to rub his back before nap time. I am doing my best to cherish all of these wonderful moments together.

I am afraid of the sadness that will envelop him once he realizes that baby Eli will not be leaving. I am scared of his cries when he just wants me to pick him up and hold him after my c-section and I’ll have to tell him no. I know our household will change drastically with the addition of a baby. I promise to take time alone to spend with my little man. I know one day Cody will love Eli. I can’t wait to see him give his little brother a kiss or clap encouragingly as he takes his first step. I can’t wait to see him teach him how to throw a football or kick a soccer ball or shoot a basketball into a hoop. I am so thankful that Eli will receive services to help him along the way (speech, occupational, and physical therapies) but I am confident that his greatest teacher will be his big brother. The same little boy that has taught me to laugh through the tears, find the joy in the simple things, and that sometimes a hug really can make everything all better.

20120725-182302.jpg

20120725-182343.jpg

20120725-182354.jpg

3 comments on “Summertime fun

    • Hi Diane! Wow. I can’t believe I have a follower all the way in the UK. To know my blog has found you makes me so very happy. Although this blog is a direct reflection of my innermost thoughts and feelings, I also want those that are facing the same uncertainty as me (with a prenatal diagnosis) to have a feeling of “I’m not alone”. Thank you for following!
      When is your baby due?

  1. There is a lot of resources here in the UK I was browsing ‘mumsnet’ and ‘FutureofDowns’ last night and found your page possibly through one of those sites, doesn’t matter where we are in the world when someone has the same situation as you, you already feel connected ๐Ÿ™‚ We are due 7th October, can’t wait for our little one now, glad we had the amnio for a definite answer, feel like we can prepare better now ๐Ÿ™‚ Read your post today, totally agree; seems so age related, yes I am 38 but i also know that most down syndrome children are born to younger parents
    Take care xx

Leave a Reply

