With Arms Wide Open

I was driving yesterday when a song came on the radio. It was a song that I’ve heard many times but had never really given much thought to the lyrics. As I was listening yesterday I found myself remembering vividly the day we found out Eli had Down syndrome and then daydreaming about the day he arrives in this world. I had tears streaming down my face. Here are the lyrics:

WITH ARMS WIDE OPEN
by Creed
Well I just heard the news today
It seems my life is going to change
I close my eyes, begin to pray
Then tears of joy stream down my face

With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I’ll show you everything
With arms wide open
With arms wide open

Well I don’t know if I’m ready
To be the man I have to be
I’ll take a breath, I’ll take her by my side
We stand in awe, we’ve created life

With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I’ll show you everything
With arms wide open
Now everything has changed
I’ll show you love
I’ll show you everything

With arms wide open
With arms wide open
I’ll show you everything …oh yeah
With arms wide open..wide open

If I had just one wish
Only one demand
I hope he’s not like me
I hope he understands
That he can take this life
And hold it by the hand
And he can greet the world
With arms wide open…

With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I’ll show you everything
With arms wide open
Now everything has changed
I’ll show you love
I’ll show you everything
With arms wide open
With arms wide open

I’ll show you everything..oh yeah
With arms wide open….wide open

This song spoke to me on so many levels. The day we found out that our baby had Down syndrome was a day that changed both of us forever. Our path in life, as we knew it, would be forever altered. But our love for this baby has never changed. We will embrace our child, differences and all. Just like we will, and have, embraced Cody’s differences. Maybe it’s time everybody starts celebrating the differences in each other instead of fearing them. We will welcome Eli into this family with arms wide open. We will show him everything the world has to offer. We will show him love (and I’m guessing he’ll teach us many new meanings to that word) and that he can be and do anything that he wants to. We all can. As long as we have our arms wide open – open to embrace what life blesses us with.

On a different note, Happy Grandparents Day to Nana, Papa, and GiGi. Cody and Eli, and their parents (us!), are blessed to have all of you in our lives. xoxoxo

20120909-092030.jpg

20120909-092235.jpg

Leave a Reply

