Changes

Yesterday my mom retired. It was so wonderful to see her so happy. She’s always worked so hard to provide for her family. Back in the day, when it was just her and I, she worked multiple jobs at once. Later, after she met my dad, we moved to Washington State where she took the job she’s had for almost 27 years. I can’t even fathom being at one place that long! The longest I stayed in one place was 7 years – although in my previous profession (hotel sales) longevity was a bit unheard of. Yesterday, as I watched her laughing about old memories with current and former coworkers and then saw her get emotional as she hugged them goodbye, I was overwhelmed with thankfulness. Thankful that she formed such lasting friendships with many of them. Thankful that so many of these friends have seen her through some dark days and celebrated with her in the happy times. Thankful that these people, some strangers to me (until yesterday!), care about my mom so much that they are happy to accept her request for prayers for me and my family. I heard countless times yesterday, “I’m praying for you. I’m praying for Eli. It’ll all be ok.”. Thank you to all of you who worked with my mom. Thank you for caring about her and in return, caring about me. You are special people! God bless.

My mom and dad are moving this weekend. Retired on Friday, moving on Saturday! I am happy (for them) and sad (for me). They are moving to their dream home on 5 acres in a small town on the ‘Eastern’ part of the state, about an hour and half from us. They currently live about 20 minutes from us. Although I know that my mom will visit often and that we will visit them once Eli is over any medical challenges after birth, I know it will not be the same. It will not be easy to just ‘stop by’ any more. It will require planning and a car full of diapers, toys, and other travel essentials when traveling with two children! It most likely will require us staying the night, being away from Daddy since he works 6 days a week. It’s hard asking a 2 year old to be patient for three hours in the car – It’s much easier to split it up! Plus the trip requires travel over a large mountain pass which could be treacherous in the winter. I know we will do it. Obviously I don’t want my parents to miss out on time with their grandchildren. I just am not a huge fan of change. A lot of changes are happening all around the same time in my family. I just hope that the most important thing to me, relationships, don’t.

So today, I’m a bit emotional. Hoping the changes don’t change everything. I’m praying the only change is more time together for all of us.

Leave a Reply

