Happy Birthday Eli!

I am very tired after a long, emotionally charged day but I thought I better update this blog before I take a nap.

Eli Michael was born this morning at 10:05am. He weighed a healthy 6 pounds, 12 ounces. I am recovering well but Eli could use your prayers. He is currently in the NICU where he’ll stay until I’m discharged (2-4 days) or possibly longer. When he was delivered he had trouble keeping his oxygen levels up. They ordered an X-ray and found that there was a pocket of air outside his lungs. This is caused by something called pneumothorax, a small hole in his lung. It should close on it’s own but he does require oxygen to remain stable. He has a tube in his mouth to help remove some of the extra air. He has an IV to receive nourishment as he is unable to eat due to the extra air in his belly. He had an echocardiogram which confirmed what was found in utero – he has a VSD (hole in the heart) and an overriding aorta. We meet with the cardiologist tomorrow. His heart seems strong and healthy otherwise.

The hardest part for me has been being away from him while I recover from the c-section. I did get to see him for a brief moment before they scooted him out of the operating room but then I had to wait 4 very long hours before laying eyes on him again. Eventually, I was able to be wheeled into his small room in the NICU where I was able to hold him and talk to him and pray for him. His Daddy has been by his side almost non-stop which has been nice. His big brother Cody came in to see him and told him, “Happy birthday Eli!” and “I love you Eli!”- it was a precious moment between my beautiful sons.

Please pray for strength for our beloved baby. We already know he’s a fighter but I was hoping he wouldn’t have to go to battle so soon.

xoxo Melanie, Chuck, Cody, and Eli

20121025-223912.jpg

20121025-223931.jpg

20121025-223940.jpg

20121025-224008.jpg

20121025-224017.jpg

20121025-224028.jpg

3 comments on “Happy Birthday Eli!

  1. I just found your blog! Congrats, Eli is precious! I will keep you and your family in my prayers.
    We also had a prenatal diagnosis of Ds and our Eli was born in April 2012. Looking forward to following your journey!
    barryandashley.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

