Eli update – Day 3

Update on Eli: So today was exciting and then discouraging. Eli was taken off the oxygen and his IV was removed.πŸ˜ƒ But then later they had to put him back on the oxygen.πŸ˜” His saturation levels kept decreasing, especially when he was sleeping. Good news, he’s eating like a champ. Just very frustrating that we take one step forward, two steps back. I just want to take him home so I can have both my boys under one roof. I found out today that we could only miss one feeding per day. So that means Chuck and I cannot both go home. And unfortunately, due to the c-section and pain pills, I can’t drive. I was really hoping both of us would be able to be home on Halloween to trick or treat with Cody. πŸ˜” I guess that won’t be happening. Each day I feel more guilty for not being there for Cody. It’s just not fair. Now that we’re “rooming in” and I’m no longer a patient, we’re responsible for all our meals. We live an hour away from the hospital so it’s not really possible to go home for each meal. I just hope Eli continues to make more progress than set backs because we can’t afford this “lifestyle” for long. These are all things that I would not have ever thought we’d need to worry about. I was worried about silly things like the future. I never imagined we’d face such challenging obstacles, like how to keep our family together, this early on!
Sorry to sound so whiny. I’m not trying to be. It’s just one of those days where feeling sorry for myself takes over the positivity. Thank you so much for all your comments and for every good thought and prayer. To have so many people care is truly humbling. I know this is only a temporary set back to an amazing boy’s life. I just pray that this little detour is over soon.

20121029-020952.jpg
HAPPY TO BE OXYGEN AND IV FREE

20121029-021023.jpg
TOTALLY CONTENT AFTER DINNER

2 comments on “Eli update – Day 3

  1. Dear Melanie,
    Congratulations on the birth of your beautiful Eli! We are expecting an Eli of our own in January, our third grandson in 4 years. Reading about your journey is definitely helping with our journey. Eli will have two big brothers to watch his back – but we are all still adjusting and trying to learn as much as we can to prepare for his birth. I’m so glad your Eli is eating well!
    I don’t know where you are, but just a suggestion – ASK FOR HELP! If you have a church family, let them know you need help with food, transportation, whatever. I don’t know anything about your situation, but I do know it’s easy to try and “do it all.” You can’t. Call in the troops. And as for adjusting to the changes in Eli’s big brother’s life – it’s so normal to feel like you’re not doing enough for your older child. You are doing the best that you can. And even though you may feel like you’re letting him down, you’re not – he is loved and blessed to have wonderful parents. He will be fine.
    God’s blessings on you and your beautiful family.
    Lesa Randolph, Murfreesboro, TN

  2. I’m so glad to hear Eli is eating well. His pictures are just adorable! I hope his saturation levels maintain during sleeping very soon so you can all be home. Is there a way they can send you home with oxygen? I want to say I’ve heard of that before, but I’m not all sure what it entails. I will definitely keep Eli, you, and your family in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

