Thankful, today and always

Looking back to last Thanksgiving I realize where I once thought I had it all, I was wrong. Something was missing but I didn’t know it. I was content with my life. I had a son who filled my heart with love. A husband who made me laugh every day. Friends who kept me company and family who kept me fulfilled. I woke up each day feeling satisfied. Life was good. Fast forward to January. We found out we were having a baby! We were excited and a bit apprehensive (although we planned the pregnancy it was still scary to think of having TWO kids to care for). Life moved along, continuing to keep me content. Then came the month of May. May knocked us off our feet. Changed everything I thought I knew about my world. Thinking back on that month, I realize that was the month that changed me. Before May, I thought it couldn’t get any better. After May, I thought it couldn’t get any worse. Today, I can’t imagine my life any other way. Do I sometimes get discouraged? Yes. But most days I am filled with gratitude. So much gratitude. I am grateful that God chose us to be the parents of Cody and Eli. We are the perfect foursome. I am a better person because I am their mom. This Thanksgiving, I realize that what I was missing was an open heart. A heart willing to accept life as He has planned for me. To never just be content. I should always strive for happiness. Everybody should. Life is what we make of it. What was once so overwhelmingly heartbreaking to me has now become part of the duo that keeps my heart beating. What I have learned is to never fear the unknown. We should embrace it. The unexpected in life is what keeps it exciting! So this Thanksgiving, I am thankful for this journey that was planned for me from the beginning. This journey that I am blessed to get to be a part of. Today, I am thankful for the road less traveled. I am a better person because of it. Never take for granted what you have. And never doubt what you are given. Happy Thanksgiving friends, new and old. Thank you for reading – thank you for caring. xoxo

20121122-114621.jpg

20121122-114632.jpg

Leave a Reply

