Bronchlioitis is a real bummer

Well Eli’s first World Down Syndrome Day did not end how we envisioned. I took him to the pediatrician because he wasn’t eating well, had a horrendous cough, and I could hear a wheeze. From what I read online, a wheeze is never good. I was right. They tested his oxygen levels (which were low, especially when he was asleep) and tried an Albuterol treatment (to no avail). She said we needed to go right to the hospital for admission – she suspected he had RSV. A respiratory infection. Ugh.

We’ve been here for 3 days with what they have labeled Bronchiolitis, which is basically a viral infection that can be caused by a variety of different viruses. His oxygen sats keep dropping when he sleeps. We try taking him off any kind of assistance (oxygen or forced room air) and he does fine – until he falls asleep. Today they decided to do a chest X-ray to view his lungs. They also changed the way he’s getting air. They have switched him to a machine that is basically a toned down version of the CPAP. They are forcing a tiny bit of air into his lungs to help inflate them. We are really hoping this breathing treatment does the trick. We’re going on our 3rd night in the hospital. I know it could be worse but it’s just no fun. Next week is the hubby’s 40th birthday. I had a surprise party planned for him tonight (it’s no longer a surprise since I had to tell him about it yesterday after I canceled it) – total bummer. But most importantly, once again, my baby is sick and my family is separated. I am a much happier mommy with my family all together. Thankfully, Nana is taking wonderful care of Cody for us. ❀

So, here I am once again asking for prayers for our sweet boy. I know he’ll be ok and I know he’s in the best place to get better but I also know hospitals suck and we all just want to go home! Although, as usual, he’s stolen the hearts of all the nurses and doctors. I suspect they’d like him to stick around for awhile.

20130323-142703.jpg

20130323-142720.jpg

20130323-142738.jpg
Apparently, he is much happier about staying in the hospital than mommy and daddy are.

2 comments on “Bronchlioitis is a real bummer

Leave a Reply

