Tear clean up in aisle 12

The other day I cried in the grocery store. But I wasn’t sad – I was actually very happy. I was overcome with emotion because everything was just so normal. Cody and Eli were riding in the cart together for the first time. It was so fun seeing big brother teach his little brother how to “drive” the car.

20130806-004138.jpg
I stepped back for a moment and just took it all in. A year ago, I couldn’t visualize what our new “normal” would be. Heck, 6 months ago I still really had no idea. Two days ago, in the middle of the grocery store, I finally caught a glimpse of it.

20130806-005101.jpg
We really are no different than we were before Eli came along. Eli does typical things. Things I was once so worried he wouldn’t, or couldn’t, do. He eats, he drinks from a cup, he plays, he moves all over the floor, he talks (babbles “Mama”, “Dada”, “Ba Ba”), he’s learning to sign, he smiles, he laughs, he steals the hearts of most people he encounters. Yes, another major surgery is looming on the horizon – but right now I am choosing to bask in the normalcy of life. And praying for it to stay this way for awhile.

20130806-234343.jpg

20130806-234416.jpg

20130806-234440.jpg

20130806-234508.jpg

20130806-234601.jpg

20130806-234612.jpg

20130806-234725.jpg

5 comments on “Tear clean up in aisle 12

  1. I am so very proud of you Melanie. Your love is your strength. Your Uncle Paul and I pray every night for our little baby boy. God bless you and your family and know that you are all loved very much. Paul & Kat Willett

  2. Hi, I just stumbled onto your blog while searching lambdoid craniosynostosis. My son is almost 6 months old and has been diagnosed with this same suture closing. Looks like we are headed down the same road. We have met with the craniofacial surgeon and he just completed band therapy. We meet with the Pediatric neurosurgeon this friday and should have a surgery date soon. It seems like you guys may have your surgery sooner than ours since your so. Is a few months older. I would love to discuss our experiences sometime. Praying for your son’s surgery.
    Brandy

    • Thank you for your prayers Brandy. I am sorry that you too will have to go through this with your son. Eli has his surgery this Friday. I am an anxious wreck. I will update my blog at some point post surgery. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Are you on Facebook? There’s a great support group on there (Cranio Care Bears) that I’ve found to be super helpful. Also, check out their website, http://www.craniocarebears.org. It has a lot of useful information.

      Best wishes,
      Melanie

Leave a Reply

