Love creates awareness

October is Down syndrome Awareness Month. I remember writing about that last year, before Eli was born. I was certain I would be Eli’s biggest advocate. Now that we’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Eli for almost a year, I’ve realized he does a lot of the advocating himself. People genuinely love him without ever even meeting him. I have thought about what I would like everyone to be most “aware” of when it comes to Down syndrome. My wish is that through pictures of Eli, interacting with Eli, and loving Eli that you see past antiquated stereotypes. He is a son, a brother, a nephew, a grandson, a cousin, a friend. He has feelings and emotions. He is smart and funny (and obviously adorably cute!). He happens to have an extra chromosome but that will not stop him from having hopes and dreams, just like the ones we already have for him. His smile can light up any room and I know he will one day change the world. Please teach your children to be tolerant and accepting of all people. Please teach love. I truly believe that love can, and will, conquer all. Eli has taught me that. See, he already is changing the world.❤️

20131001-184751.jpg
Last year I talked about the Buddy Walk and how we weren’t ready to go yet. This year we were excited to go and hang out with so many of our new friends! Unfortunately, Seattle’s Buddy Walk is scheduled for this Sunday, October 6th. Eli’s surgery is on Friday. If we’re walking anywhere on Sunday, it’ll be the hospital halls. This year, we’ll be at the Buddy Walk in spirit.

Tomorrow we find out what time Eli’s surgery will be. I’ll be honest, I’m a wreck. More on that in the next post….
Until then, I’ll leave you with Eli’s 11 month old (already?!?) picture collage.

20131001-184917.jpg

7 comments on “Love creates awareness

  1. Hi, I am a student at Andrews University and in my English class we had to do an analytical paper on a blog. I happened to find your blog because of my interest for special needs children, I hope to work with them in the future and that is why I am studying Speech Pathology. I just wanted to say thank you for sharing your incredible story. It is so inspiring to hear about the obstacles Eli is overcoming and I know you give so much hope to a lot of other families out there. I will continue to pray for you in your journey!
    You can see a brief summary of what I wrote about your blog at http://analyticalthinking2013.blogspot.com

    • Wow. I am flattered that you chose my blog to write a paper on. I hope you received a good grade! I loved reading your interpretation of my blog. Thank you for sharing it with me!
      Best of luck in your future endeavors.

      Melanie

  2. I don’t know how it’s possible but Eli gets cuter every month-I just love that smile and twinkle in his eyes. Happy 11 month Birthday Eli! We’ll be waiting to hear re: when surgery is scheduled for surgery and I know all will go well with God’s hands guiding the many surgeons hands involved and of course with all the prayers being said on Eli’s behalf. He’s a fighter and will be recovered and home before you know it. Much love and prayers for your family-stay strong!

    • Thank you Aunt Peg. His surgery is scheduled for 11:15am on Friday. We check in at 10am. I am a nervous wreck. Your love and prayers are greatly appreciated. Love you.

  3. Mel, the Collage is perfect – and that Eli can light up a room through his photos! He has such angelic presence.. Eli continues to change the world one person at a time and Friday will be no different.. Prayers for Gods hands to hold your family and Eli during surgery..

Leave a Reply

