A resolution to end hurtful words

I posted this on Facebook today. I thought I would share it here as well.

I’ve seen a lot of people putting their resolutions and goals for 2014 on FB. This year, will you (my friends and family) consider a resolution of stopping the use of the words retard and retarded? My tolerance for the word is at an all time low. Too many people have said it in front of me, in front of Eli. One day, Eli may hear that word in a derogatory way aimed at him. When he asks me why someone would call him that, I will explain that it’s a word bullies use. Do you want my little boy to think of YOU as a bully? Please stop the use of the “R” word. Please teach your children not to use it. For Eli, his friends, and all the people with disabilities that the word potentially offends. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you.

20140102-211423.jpg

Leave a Reply

